The Silent Sister is #5 on the iBooks Bestseller list for Fiction and Literature.

Diane’s latest novel The Silent Sister is a USA Today bestseller!

October, 2014  The Silent Sister is on sale now!

October, 2014  The Keeper of the Light: Book 1 in the Keeper Trilogy and Kiss River: Book 2 in the Keeper Trilogy are now available as audio books!   Watch for the audio version of Her Mother’s Shadow: Book 3 in the Keeper Trilogy coming soon.

Necessary Lies has been selected as a Target Book Club pick for October 2014.

The Silent Sister is available for preorder! Click here to preorder.

Join Diane Chamberlain as she tours NC and SC in October, 2014.  Check out her Events Page for tour dates and locations.

US Readers! The Broken String is available now for only 99¢. The Broken String is an e-short story that introduces the characters in Diane Chamberlain’s upcoming book The Silent Sister.  However, you do not have to read The Broken String to enjoy The Silent SisterClick here to purchase The Broken String!

“In this powerful novel, Chamberlain peels back the disturbing truths about the eugenics sterilization program implemented in North Carolina during the 1960s. Two voices reveal the heartbreak of the state-mandated program, which sterilized the mentally ill, African Americans, those with disabilities, and women on welfare… Chamberlain brings to light the horrors inflicted for years on victims of the eugenics sterilization program. By allowing Ivy and Jane to tell their stories, Chamberlain humanizes the survivors. This is a troubling account, considering how recently involuntary sterilization occurred in this country. Book groups and fans of Jodi Picoult should appreciate this work.”

—Library Journal, starred review for Necessary Lies

UK Readers! Necessary Lies is on sale NOW! Click here to purchase!

Booklist for Necessary Lies

“Employing accessible characters and compelling language, Chamberlain deeply mines the appalling, little-known history of North Carolina’s Eugenics Sterilization Program, in effect from 1929 to 1975. As worker-tenants on a tobacco farm in 1960, 15-year-old Ivy Hart lives with her faltering, temperamental grandmother, mentally slow yet breathtakingly beautiful 17-year-old sister, young nephew “Baby” William, and her own epilepsy. Jane Forrester, an idealistic social worker, whose status-conscious doctor-husband isn’t convinced his wife should hold a job, feels smothered by the social niceties of the early ’60s South and starts to question the boundaries and mutual respect in her own marriage. When Jane becomes Ivy’s family’s social worker, she encounters the state program that seeks to sterilize “mental defectives,” among others with supposedly undesirable characteristics. Through every choice she makes from then on, Jane triggers an inescapable series of events that thrusts everything either she or Ivy ever held to be true into a harsh light, binding them together in ways they do not immediately comprehend or appreciate. Absorbing and haunting, this should strongly touch Chamberlain’s fans and draw those who enjoy Jodi Picoult and Barbara Delinsky.”

Publishers Weekly for Necessary Lies

“In this heart-wrenching historical fiction, prolific author Chamberlain focuses on a time in North Carolina’s history that most people would rather forget. It’s 1960, and Jane is a 21-year-old newlywed who’s just accepted a job as a social worker, though her husband, Robert, would rather she stay home like the other country club wives. Her clients—poor tobacco farmers in Grace County, like the Hart family—live in the harsh reality of the rural South, with too many mouths to feed and not much to feed them. Jane is eager to help, until she discovers that part of her job is deciding whether young girls like the vivacious Ivy Hart should be sterilized, in order to keep them from having babies that depend on the state. A captivating look at the little-discussed eugenics program that was responsible for sterilizing more than 7,000 American citizens—some without their knowledge—this engrossing novel digs deep into the moral complexity of a dark period in history and brings it to life.”
—Publishers Weekly

Secret Lives, audio edition on sale now!

Before Necessary Lies came The First Lie, ebook original short story, on sale now!

The Midwife’s Confession is now available as an audio book!

May 16, 2013 The Midwife’s Confession joins The Good Father and The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes as audio books. Watch for Secret Lives and The Escape Artist coming soon.

May 1, 2013 The Good Father now joins The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes as an audio book! More on the way!

March 25, 2013 The Audio version of The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes is now available! Watch for audio versions of The Good Father, The Midwife’s Confession, Secret Lives, The Escape Artist in the months to come.

February 12, 2013: UK Readers: Secret Lives and The Escape Artist remain in the top 10 Kindle bestseller list for Women’s Fiction.

October 16, 2012: Release date for the reissue of Her Mother’s Shadow, completing the Keeper of the Light trilogy! (1. Keeper of the Light; 2. Kiss River; 3. Her Mother’s Shadow

June 18, 2012: Secret Lives just jumped past all the 50 Shades of Grey books to reach #1 in Kindle’s Bestseller List for Women’s Fiction!

June 7, 2012: UK and Australian readers–The Good Father is now published! Check out the TV ad on Diane’s blog (and your TV)!

April 24, 2012: The Good Father, a brand new novel, is released in print and ebook in the US and as an ebook in the UK (It will be in print in the UK in May)

April 23, 2012: The Good Father is a Publishers Weekly Pick of the Week!

March 31, 12: Brass Ring is reissued in print as well as e-book in the UK and Ireland.

Kiss River is now available in the US!

Diane now has an International page for UK, Ireland, AU and NZ. Check it out in the BOOKS section of her website.